This project is read-only.

Troubleshooting an intermitenet login problem

Apr 29, 2015 at 10:07 PM
Hello,

I have implemented the default individual user account identity.net authentication for a forms based app. I am new to this so I've only implemented the bare minimum to to authenticate certain sections of my webapp. Here is the tutorial that I followed for my implementation: http://www.asp.net/identity/overview/getting-started/adding-aspnet-identity-to-an-empty-or-existing-web-forms-project

I am having an intermittent login problem with my app. This happens on both my development environment (VS 2013) and my deployed application on an IIS server. When the issue arises, I am unable to login to the app, though I am certain I am providing the correct username and password. The authentication page, does not provide any type of error. The form just resets, removing both the username and password. I can continue to try to login but the same things happens. If I wait long enough, I will be able to login. Perhaps this is after the session expires???

Here is my very basic authentication code:
protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            RegisterHyperLink.NavigateUrl = "Register";
            OpenAuthLogin.ReturnUrl = Request.QueryString["ReturnUrl"];
            var returnUrl = HttpUtility.UrlEncode(Request.QueryString["ReturnUrl"]);
            if (!String.IsNullOrEmpty(returnUrl))
            {
                RegisterHyperLink.NavigateUrl += "?ReturnUrl=" + returnUrl;
            }
        }

protected void LogIn(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            if (IsValid)
            {
                // Validate the user password
                var manager = new UserManager();
                ApplicationUser user = manager.Find(UserName.Text, Password.Text);
                if (user != null)
                {
                    IdentityHelper.SignIn(manager, user, RememberMe.Checked);